Amilyn Johnson in Maynooth, Ireland

The McKendree University Experience Abroad

Week 1 January 26, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — maynooth2013 @ 8:24 pm

4b909bf865a011e2b9fd22000a1fbc16_7Here is a picture of the south campus at NUI Maynooth. It is absolutely beautiful. It looks like Hogwarts, and I love it. The week began with an orientation in Dublin, where we met the students from the US that are going to University of Limerack. Our orientation was with both the Maynooth group and the Limerack group. Everyone was awesome, and those of us going to Maynooth already miss those who are going to Limerack. The first day, we took a tour of the Guiness factory and went out to dinner. Tuesday and Wednesday was mostly orientation about the country and the program. Thursday and Friday, we had orientation at our school, which was a lot of fun. We met some of the other students from the US and other countries that are studying there. Today, my friend and I went shopping for some essentials and groceries. I’m excited for classes to start on Monday. My schedule shouldn’t be too difficult. I have no classes on Fridays, which is awesome. And I can’t wait for Monday because all of the Irish students will finally be here and we can start mingling with them:)

 

3 Responses to “Week 1”

  1. Sarah Klucker Says:

    sitting in my office now with Shayna and we miss you! I’m glad to see that you’re doing well and that you’re excited for classes to start. This is going to be such a great experience for you! Don’t forget that you promised you’ll do a short video and email it to me, or post it on you tube. I can’t wait to see more pics and hear more about what’s going on. Btw, it’s a cool 50+ degrees here today….feels like spring and is really creeping everyone out!

  2. Lisa Brennan Says:

    Oh, I love sweet Ireland! The campus looks beautiful, and I’m sure the skies of Ireland are as gorgeous as ever. Tell us about some of your classes and Maynooth. That’s a town I’ve not visited, but I’d like to know more.
    Enjoy your study abroad experience, and keep in touch with your McKendree community. We want to know how it’s going!

  3. Nichole DeWall Says:

    Hi Amilyn,

    I’m so glad to hear that you are settling in at NUI. It sounds like a picturesque place, worthy of Harry Potter–hooray! Everyone here at McKendree is thinking of you and wishing you much success.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.