Amilyn Johnson in Maynooth, Ireland

The McKendree University Experience Abroad

Cover of A Smile That Explodes February 13, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — maynooth2013 @ 10:20 am

Cover of A Smile That Explodes

So, long story short, while I have been here, I made a friend name Seamus. Ended up singing for him, and he decided that I should record a song with his brother, Cormac. And this is what came of it. The song is A Smile That Explodes by Joseph Arthur. It’s just crazy that this never would have happened if I had decided to wait another year, or even just a semester to study here. Or if I had picked a different school. I am so thankful that I had this opportunity!!!

 

6 Responses to “Cover of A Smile That Explodes”

  1. Sarah Klucker Says:

    AMILYN!!!!!!!! This made me sooooooooooo happy and excited I could barely sit in my seat to finish it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is so amazing and I’m literally tearing up a little bit thinking about how amazing it is to watch God work and make all of this happen for you the way it has. I know that you are going to come back with such amazing stories and who knows what other experiences you’ll have while you’re there. Do you mind if we show this at the study abroad brown bag next Wednesday? Nevermind the fact that you do have a beautiful voice, this is just so cool!

    How are your classes? Did you see that last email about transfer credits. I think you’ll be okay with what you’re taking and really appreciate you being so vigilant about double checking. Have you seen any of the sights around there yet? I want you to post more pictures! :)

    How are your flat mates and class mates? What’s your favorite class? When is your spring break and what are your plans for that? Do they even do spring break there?

    I’m so proud of you Amilyn! We miss you terribly here and are pulling for you in a major way! Great Job!

    • maynooth2013 Says:

      Hey Sarah!! Thank you!!! I wouldn’t mind if you used the video at the brown bag. It was an amazing opportunity. We are planning on making a few more recordings, so if that happens, I will definitely post them! Classes are good. Have seen some sights when we went up to Belfast, but not much else. There are six other girls here with the IFSA Butler program, and we have all become really close, which is super cool. So we are planning a trip to Galway in a couple weeks. Classes are going well. I love my Irish Language class. My flatmates are great. Two of them are American, one is Chinese, and the other one is Irish. And they are all really nice. Spring break in March 16th through April 1st. We have our adventure weekend with the Butler program during then, but other than that, I don’t have any plans.

  2. Phil Wilhelm Says:

    Hey there – Sounds like you are having a great time. Can’t wait to read more!!!

  3. Dr. Jennifer Hope Says:

    Wow! What an amazing opportunity that shows you are making the most of this semester away from the US. Don’t you just feel like you are in another world with that Irish landscape and architecture around you?? Love it!

  4. Dr. Darryn Diuguid Says:

    Love this video! Pure awesomeness! Have the time of your life!

  5. Chris Bahr Says:

    Amilyn,

    it’s good to know that you are enjoying your experience in Ireland and meeting some awesome new friends! I hope that you will continue to stay open to new experiences and people during your journey abroad. We think about you often back here at McKendree and wish you well. Thanks for sharing a bit of your story with us.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.